If Thou Canst Not Yet

Today I opened a book I’ve not looked at in a while, and found this “maxim:”

Thou shalt love the Lord thy God; and if thou canst not yet love him, thou shalt trust Him with all thy mind, soul and heart.

I find this helpful because for me it is much easier to know I trust God (in spite of the fact I have to often correct my thinking to reflect that trust) than to “feel” like I love Him.   I suppose that is common.

A Severe Mercy, Sheldon Vanauken, 1977, Chpt 7
Leave a Reply

