My Name is Written on His Hands

Written by Charles Wesley, here is the text of Arise, My Soul, Arise, including the here omitted third verse:

Arise, my soul, arise; shake off thy guilty fears;
The bleeding sacrifice in my behalf appears;
Before the throne my Surety stands, Before the throne my
        Surety stands,
My name is written on His hands.
 
Five bleeding wounds He bears, received on Calvary;
They pour effectual prayers, they strongly plead for me;
“Forgive him, O forgive,” they cry.  “Forgive him,
      O forgive,” they cry.
“Nor let that ransomed sinner die!”
 
The Father hears Him pray, His dear Anointed One;
He cannot turn away the presence of His Son;
His Spirit answers to the blood, His Spirit answers
      to the blood,
And tells me I am born of God.
 
To God I’m reconciled; His pard’ning voice I hear;
He owns me for His child; I can no longer fear;
With confidence I now draw nigh, With confidence I now
      draw nigh,
And, “Father, Abba, Father,” cry.
Leave a Reply

