Autumn’s Beauty

screen-shot-2016-10-07-at-7-15-36-pm
It’s so strange that autumn is so beautiful,
 but everything is really dying.
 I saw this quote in a list of comments about autumn. I liked it a lot and it set me thinking…
That is true, the colorful leaves are dying on those beautiful trees.  However, everything is not dying.  The trees are yet alive, and after a season of cold and rest, new leaves will appear.  The tree lives.
When I look in the mirror and am reminded that I am in the autumn of my own life those leaves remind me that my life continues to have purpose , and there can still be beauty, perhaps the most radiant beauty of my life.  I pray that will be true.   And although I daily draw closer to losing the life I now know,  my Christian faith tells me that at that time, the right time, I will be made truly alive, new and perfect, and will know God as He knows me.  That is astounding!
Philippians 3:20-21 But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.
Leave a Reply

