Saturday Night Prayer

Most days I spend some time in prayer using Trevin Wax’s Prayer Room.  Each day there are four entries, one for each time period of the day: Morning; Midday; Evening; and Night.  Almost never do I get to the last one, designated for 11 pm to 5 am.  I looked ahead and I like the Night one for today.

SATURDAY NIGHT PRAYER

The Call to Prayer
May the Lord Almighty grant me and those I love a peaceful night and a perfect end.

The Request for Presence
Our help is in the Name of the Lord; the maker of heaven and earth.

Confession
Almighty God, my heavenly Father: I have sinned against you, through my own fault, in thought, and word, and deed, in what I have done and in what I have left undone. For the sake of your Son our Lord Jesus Christ, forgive me all my offenses; and grant that I may serve you in newness of life, to the glory of your name. Amen.
The Book of Common Prayer

The Reading
For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us. For the creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the sons of God. For the creation was subjected to futility, not willingly, but because of him who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be set free from its bondage to decay and obtain the freedom of the glory of the children of God. For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.
Romans 8:18-25

The Gloria
Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, is now, and will be forever, world without end. Amen. Alleluia.

The Psalm
Make haste, O God, to deliver me! O Lord, make haste to help me! Let them be put to shame and confusion who seek my life! Let them be turned back and brought to dishonor, who desire my hurt! Let them turn back because of their shame who say, “Aha, Aha!” May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you! May those who love your salvation say evermore, “God is great!”
Psalm 70

The Gloria
Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, is now, and will be forever, world without end. Amen. Alleluia.

The Small Verse
God of the passing hour, another week has gone and I have been preserved in my going out, in my coming in. Nothing can equal the number of your mercies except for my imperfections and sins. While I hope for pardon through the blood of the cross, I pray to be clothed with humility, to be made alive in your way, to be more devoted to you, to keep the end of my life in view, to be cured of the foolishness of delay and indecision, to know how frail I am, to number my days and apply my heart unto wisdom.
The Valley of Vision (Puritan Prayer)

The Lord’s Prayer
Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be your name,
Your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread,
and forgive us our debts as we also have forgiven our debtors,
and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.
For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen.

The Petition
Gracious Father, we humbly ask on behalf of your Church. Fill it with all truth; and all truth with all peace. Where it is corrupt, purge it; where it is in error, direct it; where it is superstitious, rectify it; where anything is amiss, reform it; where it is right, strengthen and confirm it; where is in need, furnish it; where it is divided and torn apart, unite it, O Holy One of Israel.
Archbishop William Laud

The Final Thanksgiving
Lord, now you are letting your servant depart in peace, according to your word; for my eyes have seen your salvation that you have prepared in the presence of all peoples, a light for revelation to the Gentiles, and for glory to your people Israel. Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, is now, and will be forever, world without end. Amen. Alleluia.
Luke 2:29-32

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

