Differentiation Without Diminishment

This morning I read a blog post that reminded me of a conversation I had last week during which I mentioned to a friend that I am convinced that our culture now is so focused on women, that men, especially boys, are disadvantaged and not valued.  Don’t get me wrong, I DO believe that women should receive equal pay for equal work, that girls should be encouraged to excel at the things they are good at and interested in.  What is driving me crazy is the insistence that there is no difference between men and women, and the accompanying cultural frenzy to prove it.  Frankly, I have felt for a long time now that the goal of some of the Women’s Lib members (or whatever they are called now) is to trample men, to show they are unnecessary fools, and prove “anything you can do I can do better.”   To me it feels like “p…. -envy”.  (I just can’t say that in print).  Why in the world can’t we celebrate our abilities and our differences and treasure them all?

The article is lengthy, but worthwhile reading.

Leave a Reply

