Bettie B. Pearson

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 12.08.23 PM
Thinking, with thanksgiving, of Bettie Butler Pearson.
My first memories related to Bettie are knowing her parents in Paint Rock. There were a lot of Butlers there! Her mom used to give us each our own coke in a glass bottle. What a treat on a hot day in Alabama! Then I remember when Miss Bettie, as we called her,  and Pastor David were married and later became missionaries in Malawi (then Nyasaland). When they came home on furloughs we sometimes saw them. That was an advantage of living near Westerly, RI, where the Missionary Society had its headquarters.
A couple of years ago I purchased her book, which I wish I had down here with me so that, today, I could look through her memories from Makapwa.
She was a very gentle, quiet lady who lit wherever she was with her smile and love for everyone.  I’ve heard she was a very good Sabbath School teacher and mentor.  I’m not surprise.
I found an article about her husband, David, when he retired a few years ago. Bettie served as much as David, wherever they were planted.
 Here is a link to her book:
  JohnJesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life.  Whever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live, and everyone who lives and believes in me shall never die.”  11:25-26a
Condolences to her family and friends.
Leave a Reply

