Beauty and Wonder

I’ve started reading Eyes Wide Open.  From the preface:

[Beauty] moves me in a supranational way.  I can analyze it, but I can’t explain it.

It is rational, yet it defies analysis.  You know what I mean, don’t you?  It’s that

strange something that happens inside when you look at the wide-eyed face of a

child or catch a glimpse of sunrays in a dusty room.  That something is an internal

“wow.”  It is wonder.

….Without fully realizing it, all of my life I have yearned for, searched for,

fought for, and craved beauty.  So have you.  So did the ancients….Beauty, along

with truth and goodness, dominated serious thinking and serious thinkers.

C.S. Lewis speaks for all of us:  “The sweetest thing in all my life has been the

longing…to find the place where all the beauty came from.”

Not so anymore.  Beauty has been philosophized into oblivion.  Today’s great thinkers

don’t do so well with infinity.  So they gave the consideration of beauty a strange

name:”asthetics.”  Then they dumbed it down to the simple philosophy of art and

culture.

…I much prefer the word beauty.  Beauty get the juices flowing.  Beauty stops us

in our tracks.

….Therin lies the great mystery.  Beauty dominates life and culture, media, and

society, and we often don’t realize why or even think about it.  I didn’t consider it

until a rock-and-roll-loving friend of mine started me on a quest.  These pages are

thoughts on a journey that has enriched my life in ways I cannot adequately

describe.

Wonder defies explanation.  All I can say is that even my basic understanding

of how God wired me for beauty has brought experiential and soul-filling meaning

to the moments of beauty He so graciously give me.  Life’s quintessential moments

summit on these mountaintops.  I was made for them.  So were you.

     There are but two lessons for the Christian to learn:

the one is to enjoy God in every thing;

the other is to enjoy every thing in God.

-Charles Simeon (1759-1836)

Leave a Reply

