Knowing God

“Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. The one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.”
 I often think about this statement made by Jesus and am determined to be someone who keeps God’s commandments.  Normally the first commandment that comes to my mind is the one from the old testament, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.” Deuteronomy 6:5  That is because when Jesus was asked “Which is the great commandment in the Law?” he replied “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.  This is the great and first commandment.”  Matthew 22:37
How do I love anyone with all my heart and soul and mind, never mind the God of the Universe?
Years ago I read J.I Packer’s book, Knowing God, and it was very helpful.  I’m about to read it again thanks to an invitation here:
Here is a little taste of the book, chapter two, “The People Who Know Their God:”
    We are, perhaps, orthodox evangelicals.  We can state the gospel clearly; we can smell unsound doctrine a mile away.  If asked how one may know God, we can at once produce the right formula… Yet the gaiety, goodness, and unfetteredness of spirit which are the marks of those who have known God are rare among us– rarer, perhaps, than they are in some other Christian circles where, by comparison, evangelical truth is less clearly and fully known…A little knowledge of God is worth more than a great deal of knowledge about him….One can know a great deal about God without much knowledge of him….One can know a great deal about godliness without much knowledge of God.
Further on in a section titled Evidence of Knowing God are four propositions:
    1.  Those who know God have great energy for God.
    2.  Those who know God have great thoughts of God.
    3.  Those who know God show great boldness for God.
    4.  Those who know God have great contentment in God.
Leave a Reply

