Standing on the Promises

The God of the Bible is a promise maker and a promise keeper.  That is why we can trust Him, and it is to our impoverishment when we don’t know those promises.  Sometimes when I don’t know how to pray it is God’s promises that help me seek His face.  Here are just a few of them:

  • Matthew 11:28-29
    Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.
  • Psalm 50:15                                                                                                                                               And call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify me.
  • Isaiah 41:10                                                                                                                                               Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.
  • Proverbs 3:5-6                                                                                                                                        Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.
  • John 3:16                                                                                                                                                          For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.
  • John 3:36                                                                                                                                                     He that believes in the Son has eternal life; whoever does not obey the Son shall not see life, but the wrath of God remains on him.
  • Romans 8:38-39                                                                                                                                              For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.
  • 1John 1:9                                                                                                                                                          If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.
  • John 14:1-3                                                                                                                                                           “Let not your hearts be troubled.  Believe in God; believe also in me.  In my Father’s house are many rooms.  If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.”
  • 2 Peter 3:1                                                                                                                                                   But we look forward to what God has promised-a new heaven and a new earth-a place where everything that has God’s approval lives.
Leave a Reply

