Knowing God….and Facebook

I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means to know God, and how to go about doing it. Because I do believe that God has revealed Himself in the bible, and through His son, Jesus, the primary way I experience God is searching and contemplating the scriptures.  Understanding better his character, the history of how He has dealt with people, His commands, and His promises have helped me know Him better.  What I’ve found is that the better I know Him, the more I love Him and the more I want to know Him.  It dawned on me that this is not strange.  It is also the way I relate to everyone I love.  It’s been helpful, in that sense, to be physically separated from a lot of those I love.  I’ll use my brother, Willy, as an example.  In the past 40 years we’ve only seen each other a few times.  These days a lot of what I have come to know about him arrives indirectly, through observation.  Thanks to Facebook I can see what he thinks is significant enough to share or comment on.  Sometimes I “hear” exact words, other times I sense his opinion through “watching” interactions with others. Thankfully, sometimes he corrects me, always he encourages me.  My point is that we have developed a deeper relationship even though we are physically separated.  I wonder if the distance has even been helpful.  If I saw him regularly would I watch most days to see if he shows up?
The big mistake some people make is not realizing that God is a person.  That implies personality, character, action.  The only way to know a person is to discover their character and observe their actions.  It is really unfair and unwise to think we understand someone we have never taken the time to get to know. Someday, I will know God, as He already knows me, but in the meantime I will keep working at knowing Him better.  I hope you will too.

Leave a Reply

